TEI of Ionian Islands

TEI of Ionian Islands


TEI of Ionian Islands was established under the name “Technological Educational Institute (TEI) of Ionian Islands” according to the Greek Official Gazette 156/20-6-2003.

It belongs to the Technological Sector of Higher Education and it is operating as a Public-law Entity  fully self-governing under the supervision of the Grrek Minister of Education.

The headquarters of the TEI Ionian Islands is located in Argostoli, Cephalonia. There are eight departments in the TEI of Ionian Islands which offer courses in modern subjects. The departments of the Institute are located in the islands of Cephalonia (Argostoli and Lixouri), Zante and Lefkada:

  • Department of  Public Relations & Communication (based in Cephalonia)
  • Department of Business Administration (based in Cephalonia)
  • Department of Audio Technology and Musical Instruments (based in Cephalonia)
  • Department of Organic Farming and Food Technology (based in Cephalonia)
  • Department of Environmental Technology and Ecology (based in Zante)
  • Department of Protection and Conservation of Cultural Heritage (based in Zante)
  • Department of Applications of Information Technology in Administration and Economy (based in Lefkada)
  • Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications (based in Lefkada)

Until the commencement of its independent operation, the administration and management of the TEI of Ionian Islands is exercised by a nine membered Administration Committee (MC). The Committee is composed as follows:

President: Napoleon Maravegias, Professor at the University of Athens

Vice-President A: Sotirios Soulis, Professor at the TEI of Athens

Vice-President B: Ioannis Dragonas, Professor at the TEI of Athens

Members: Nikolaos Malisiovas, Professor at the TEI of Epirus, Betty Tsakarestou, Assistant Professor at the Panteion University of Athens, Nikolaos Espialidis, Sound engineer and Director of Sound Recording Center of Megaron Concert Hall , Giannis Politis, Journalist  Ioannis Sianoudis, Professor at the TEI of Athens,  Ioannis Chalaris, Professor at the TEI of Athens

Department of Environmental Technology and Ecology, TEI of the Ionians

The Department’s (visit website) object of study belongs to the area of Earth and Environmental Sciences. In particular, our studies focus on the relation, interaction and balance between living organisms and the environment.

We deal both with scientific principles and their applications as well as with applied research in the following areas:

Environmental Technology and Quality Control, that is, the scientific methods and techniques for detecting, assessing and monitoring, as well as the technologies, for mitigating the human-induced degradation of the natural environment through applied research (quality indices measurement, environmental quality monitoring systems, etc.)

Environmental Protection and Management, with an emphasis on the application of scientific methods as well as prevention techniques, such as Environmental Auditing and Control, Quality Assessment and Sustainable Development. In particular, our Department focuses on Quality and Control Systems, Environmental Management Systems, Environmental Politics, Policy and Communication, Natural Resources Management, Waste Management, Environmental Impact Assessment and makes use of the relevant software.

Contact us:

Department of Environmental Technology and Ecology

2 Kalvos sq, 29100, Zakynthos

Tel: 0030 26950 24940-1

Fax: 0030 26950 24949